Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

Ships, shrubs and leaf mould

Sunshine all day long - this is what autumn should be like! Mrs M and I walked down to the town before lunch - I'm really trying to do as the physio told me and walk up and down at least three times a week. This is the fourth time in six days - I have to Blip the harbour just to prove I've done it!

A busy morning ship-wise. Here we have the 'Isle of Mull' approaching the pier, where the 'Isle of Lewis' is already docked and front right is 'Loch Striven' docked on the North Pier. In the centre is the 'Hebridean Princess', now a small cruise ship, but originally the CalMac ferry 'Columba.' I just missed the 'Loch Frisa', aka the Chugging Bathtub - she's out of the picture to the right, well on her way to Mull. 

Spent the afternoon, or most of it, barrowing leaf mould up the steep drive and tipping it over the bank. I'm using it to mulch round some of my young shrubs as the soil here is shallow and rocky. The two year old leaf mould is beautiful, very well-rotted, but it's a steep push with the barrow and I can feel my hip complaining now!

Let's hope we have more of this weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.