Grumpy Old Man

By Maurice1948

New place

A dry day today - with some sunshine later in the afternoon. Photographs in the morning, but after lunch Mrs M and I went to Dunollie, as per usual, she to her sewing group and me to meet a member of the office staff who is in charge of organising next year's Clan MacDougal gathering. 

They're expecting some 300 people to attend, mostly Americans, and many who have direct links with the family. There will will be many organised events and outings, but I've been asked if I will lead garden walks for those who want them. So I've signed up for two walks each afternoon for five days for the first week in August. I'll need to do some reading up on MacDougall family history!

After my meeting I walked down to the Dunollie Walled Garden, which is right on the seafront, behind a wall, of course. Hope Kitchen, or the Green Shoots part of it, have come to an agreement with the MacDougall family to use the Walled Garden as a replacement for the Glencruitten Walled Garden, which will be taken over by the buyer of the house next September. 

There's a man who uses part of it, but there's a lot of space, subject to removing many seedling sycamore and other trees and shrubs which have seeded in over the years. There'll be a lot of work before Green Shoots can make use of it, so my Tuesday afternoons might be spent there instead of at the Dunollie Garden in the foreseeable future! This view shows only a part of it, with the 13th century Dunollie Castle on the cliff top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.