Lucky day!

The green heron and I both struck it lucky today. He caught his lunch, and I captured a series of pictures of him fishing for it. It has been a long time (think multiple years) since I have seen a green heron, although I am always on the lookout for one whenever my photo walks take me near water. This morning I was having a wonderful walk at the Holden Arboretum, my first photo walk at Holden this summer. It was a hot, muggy, June morning, and I was spoiled for blipportunities. I will head out that way again soon because there are still plenty of trails to walk.

I wasn't looking for anything in particular, I just thought it was a great opportunity to practice the new skills I am learning in my photography class. I decided I would walk past Blueberry Pond and the wildflower garden, around Lotus Pond, up to Corning Lake, and finishing up in the rhododendron garden. I never made it that far because along the trail around Corning Lake I spotted this green heron fishing for his lunch. To say I was excited thrilled overwhelmed with joy would be putting it mildly! I posted the set of heron blips on my flickr page, if you are interested. Gotta say, it made my day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.