SweetArt

By SweetArt

BCAM Day 15

We had a slower start to today. Sherry ordered in breakfast, halwa puri, which is a semolina dessert eaten with puri (oily parathas) and chickpea curry! It used to be a treat when we were kids. And it was lovely to experience it again after decades.

We eventually ventured out of the house around midday to check out the new Chinatown in Dubai Mall and to see Fashion Avenue.

I was thrilled to see some familiar Chinese dishes which we used to have in Hong Kong and did order them for lunch. I introduced Sherry and Geraldine to xiao long bao and spicy dumplings.

Had a long walk around Dubai Mall after our late lunch. Was completely overwhelmed with the opulence of Fashion Avenue.

Sherry and Geraldine wanted to take me to see Dubai Expo but I was reluctant as I felt quite tired already by then and seeing as it was going to be an outdoor thing, and still quite hot, I wasn’t that keen. So I agreed to just drive around and perhaps see some of the site and pavilions

By the time we got there it had cooled down a bit, so I said let’s do it.

Turned out to be a great evening! I was super impressed with everything that they’d built, very well planned out. I had been to Shanghai Expo in 2010 so I had that to compare it with. This image is the Pakistan pavilion which apparently was one of the most popular pavilions during the duration of the Expo.

So pleased we did end up going. I’ve heard lots of good things about Dubai Expo, and was glad to have seen some of it. The COP28 leaders gathering is going to be held here next month, so they’re now preparing for that.

Would you be so kind and click on this link that provides free mammograms to those who need it. Thank you very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.