pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Approaching the finish line

I haven't had a lot of contact today with the boys, but the best news was the weather. No rain, and not only that, the sun came out, although like down south it has been cold still. But we know that doesn't stop these 3!

Jon said he had been meaning to check the level of the toilet yesterday, but it slipped his mind. Last night Andy was up and down to the loo a few more times than usual, and Jon was there to support him as he has been each night. But he was having an internal panic about the toilet overflowing, and at first light he crept out of the van and emptied it. Getting the cassette back in before any more night visits!! Too much information I know, but someone might be interested!!!

When Andy eventually surfaced from his sleeping bag cocoon they got going. They had wanted to visit the gorge in the photos yesterday, but arrived a bit too late and they had closed. So first stop they back tracked and saw the spectacular waterfalls, a short walk on a high viewing platform. Visited the cafe and I know had plans for a couple more visitor centres if time allowed, on their drive to the final campsite in Kinlochewe. I think the signal must be poor there, as I haven't been able to contact them tonight.

Tomorrow they drive to Inverness to give back their motorhome before driving to Dunfermline. If there is time, Jon has a few other stops planned.

My day has been a cold one in the summerhouse. I delayed my start as long as I could, walking down to the allotment first thing to feed Bessie, and collecting her eggs. Henry had to scrape the ice off his van this morning....and I have to confess to putting the heating on at lunchtime. The smart meter reading shot up to show we were using £3.63 and hour of electricity. Then I put the kettle on, and it topped nearly £5 an hour!! If it warms up a bit, I'll turn it off again. It isn't very effective anyway, but Henry's bedroom is very warm. I need to get my winter clothes out of the loft!

Looking forward to having Jon home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.