Marionb

By Marionb

Decisions Decisions...

The books are piling up again... these three have just arrived in the last two days, and are very tempting, but there are already many others on the shelf waiting their turn too..and one waiting at the library to be picked up! 

Reading for me is something I like to do when I am alone. I have the attention span of a gnat, and am easily distracted. If there is someone else in the room or a radio or TV on, I can't concentrate, so having a house guest this last several days has meant that I have fallen far behind in my reading.   

So now, it's time to get caught up. All these tempting books...Not a big decision for first choice; it will have to be Lady Tan's Circle of Women as that is the book for our next book club gathering. But then? Ooooh, the choices! 

My friend Mary left this morning to fly home, so my day was spent doing laundry and attending to those household chores that were put on hold during her visit... and the time has come to put summer items in storage and bring out the winter coats, boots, hats, scarves and gloves. The garden chores await too.. So much to do...

Meanwhile, I miss my friend..but we will Facetime every week and send jokes and photos by email. We have successfully maintained our friendship for over 40 years despite distance, and the technology of today certainly makes that a lot easier now!  

Which brings me to something I have been thinking about lately - technology, friends and distance. I have had three fellow blippers I follow "take a break" from Blipfoto and it is amazing how much I miss them! I loved to read their journals; they seemed almost like new "friends" - folks I would love to have met in person one day....maybe for lunch or coffee when visiting their country...but  now I won't...I don't even know their real names! There are times when I too think I should take a break as I have so much trouble keeping up - and I need the time for other things..What stops me is knowing how much I would miss some of the folks I follow...they are all such interesting people! Oh the dilemma!  I never thought I would be such a fan of social media - I am the only person I know who refused to join Facebook or Instagram etc...and here I am hooked on Blip! It sure will be hard to leave it behind when the time comes...But that's for another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.