WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Wicked Wind of the West

It was wild! I’ve never had to hang on and keep control of my bike for such a long period of time. Blue sky, glorious. Cross wind, evil! And of course, I was doing a hill so it got much worse before it got vaguely better - but my focus was on the second one, vanward bound and on a tailwind. 

The whole route was wonderful! Once I’d done a little circuit to wam my legs up (did I say I’m in full winter kit?! It was shorts and short sleeves on Monday!), I went up from Stanhope over the aptly named, Crawleyside Bank into Derwent Dale and west to Blanchland where the wondrous hill home began. The views already had been good but I couldn’t pay much attention beyond twenty metres of tarmac but now, nature was on my side and I made even more of taking in the scenery. 

I’ve started to get my bearings a little around here. It really is a beautiful part of the world.

Back to Beryl and a little hop over to the North York Moors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.