PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

This and that

A busy day today, starting with a routine blood test. (Wonderful job: didn't even feel the needle go in!)

Did a fair bit of gardening, mostly potting on seedlings and sowing more sweet pea seeds, as well as planting the remainder of the anemone bulbs that I bought a couple of weeks ago. Also baked a batch of banana loaves, one of which will go up the road to our daughter and family. (Apparently, LMB is still off school poorly. She's sleeping a lot, which is the best healer. Suspect she's fighting off some bug or other. Thanks for your kind wishes yesterday.)

In between other odd jobs I've done a few more rows of the latest pumpkin hat. It's growing slowly but surely. (I think it's one of those patterns that bears the encouraging words of 'knit it in an evening', but my knitting isn't that quick.)

My blip shows the interesting contrast (in size, shape and quantity) between just a few of my home-harvested sweet pea seeds (top) and the contents of a small tin of sweet pea seeds that I bought from Easton Walled Gardens, renowned for their beautiful variety of quality flowers at the height of the sweet pea season. I hope the result proves better than the unpromising appearance of the seeds, which are a variety called Ethel Grace. I suspect they might be akin to members of the animal world, where mogs and mongrels are often stronger and healthier than their thoroughbred counterparts. (Incidentally, I also cut yet another bunch of sweet peas, still flowering in the garden, even as more seed pods ripen.)

Watch this space!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.