PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Autumn comes

... in fits and starts, but I liked the colour change in these leaves.

It's felt like a somewhat wasted day. Began with a bath, and enjoyed the heart that formed in the bubbles (my Extra). Then, after brekka came a trip to the dentist for three X-rays. It was thereafter that the day went downhill. I made the foolish decision to go to an out-of-town shopping centre that carries loads of different brands of clothing. My attempt to find something suitable to wear to a funeral next week came to nothing. Such a waste of time looking! Think I'm going to have to adapt something from my summer wardrobe, with hidden additions to keep me warm as the weather's turned a lot cooler. Hard to credit a shop can have display stands carrying so many clothes but nothing suitable. Even stands marked 'Newly in' or some such carried thin summer-weight dresses. And skirts appear to have gone totally out of fashion. The few I did spot, again, were summer-weight. Frustrating!

By the time we drove home it was raining, so no gardening today! Then I've wasted the remainder of the afternoon attempting to fill in a digital form to change my address with a publisher, after my royalty statement was sent to my old address. Other publishers: no problem! This one wants to know every last detail about me. I gave up at the point where I couldn't remember my grandmother's hat size, nor the bank details of my personal money launderer. They have been paying me for years. All that has changed is my place of residence. Why do they have to make a simple thing so flipping difficult?! 

NB: I know people are coping with way worse things at present in this cruel and crazy world. I should count my blessings!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.