My Angle

By myangle

Darwin Day 2

I had an early start this morning, heading out on a half day fishing charter. I couldn't come to the top end and not wet a line. That would be criminal! This is our deckie, Keiren, filleting fish while we moved from spot to spot. Poor chap was a bit new to the job and was struggling a bit. Hard work being a deckie.

The fishing was quite good. Could have been better but then us fishermen are never satisfied. The culmination was one chap catching a 2.5 metre bull shark. He was sweating bullets trying to get it to the boat for a photo. Eventually the skipper had to take over and even he was struggling.

When we got back to the jetty I realised just how hot this place is... and how unreliable the taxi service is (long story).

I took Jo for lunch at the Darwin Trailer Boat Club and then walked up to the supermarket for some supplies. By the time I got back to the motel room I was knackered and had to have a bit of a snooze to recover.

Jo is a bit footsore. She went for a wander this morning to see the sights and ended up with multiple blisters on her feet poor thing.

This evening our plan is to walk down to the Mindil Beach markets. A slow one. Jo is a bit frustrated because I refuse to leave the motel room till it cools down a bit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.