Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Sweet Chestnuts

On what could be the last dryish day of the week, we popped over to Pickering's Pasture with my macro lens in search of fungi. The search was surprisingly unsuccessful. We didn't find any at all which was disappointing. I must have been mistaken thinking I'd seen some there last year. We did watch a nice female kestrel for ages hunting, but of course I didn't have a long enough lens for a shot. 
On the way home, I asked hubby to stop quickly at the crematorium as I'd seen fungi there in the past but once again there were no decent specimens available. I did find a few, but they were either toppled/kicked over or half eaten which wasn't very attractive. I saw one small fly agaric that was well eaten and one that looked as if it was just breaking ground, so if the weather plays ball I will go back in the next day or so to see if I can photograph it. 
Instead I found quite a few sweet chestnuts which will have to do. I suspect that the squirrels have been feasting on them a lot as almost all of the shells were empty. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.