Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Storm Babet

We moved on from Marlborough this morning and have driven down to Devon where Storm Babet was waiting to greet us.  We had a bit of fun on the way down when the police had closed the A303 so we had to turn back.  I let the SatNav take over and we ended up doing about five miles along the narrowest farm tracks I think I've ever driven on, with thick grass down the centre of the track.  Thankfully, we only came across four cars coming in the other direction but it was fun when we did.

We got to Shaldon mid-afternoon and checked in to our B&B overlooking the Green.  Oddly enough, the last time we were here was when the "Beast from the East" hit and we got snowed in and had to stay an extra night.  There is a decent pub, The London Inn, right next door so given the weather, I think that will be as far as we'll go this evening.  I did venture out to take a few shots though; this is a view across the Teign Estuary towards Teignmouth.  I don't know if it's visible on the photo but whilst the water in the estuary is pretty calm, out to sea was looking very stormy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.