Bom

By Bom

Grasshopper

I did another 3 hours in the garden today, a bit of pruning; clearing the guttering on my neighbour's garage (only accessible from my garden); emptying one of my water butts (already stopped off); cleaning and putting away the plant pot saucers; and lightly mixing in the top dressed compost. I also made sure things were packed away / boxed in that could be blown around in the strong winds forecast between tonight and Saturday. I spotted this grasshopper on my paving - it was very sluggish unfortunately. 

I can't believe we're due another deluge of rain per the Amber weather warning. We got 40mm of rain in only 1 hour late on 2nd Oct and have already had 80.4mm of rain in total this month, over half as much again as our normal rainfall for the whole month. I was very sorry to read that the teashop at Letheringsett Mill (a mile or so away) is now closed for the foreseeable future due to a freak flood on 3rd Oct that breached the mill and flooded the whole of the ground floor to a depth of 1 foot. It's the first time it's flooded since 1912. I feel so sorry for the owner, who'd put so much work into setting up the cafe as a new venture over recent years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.