Hamp5on

By Hamp5on

Català!

I'm currently learning Catalan, and loving it. I felt really challenged that I need to make an effort with it as it's the local language. Spanish is obviously the widely spoken one, but Catalan is the heart one. At the moment I'm only doing it on DuoLingo, but it's stretching my brain!
I saw the ES guys this morning, we were a small group, then home to prep for my afternoon Chaplaincy interview, but the time ended up being taken with a homeless friend. He needs an emergency travel document as his passport was stolen. His hope was that he could get one that would cover several journeys, but that's not the case and it got extremely heated between him and the Italian consulate. It didn't help that my friend was pretty drunk and emotional, and that the guy clearly didn't like him. Anyway,  we eventually got something sorted, but it left me with extremely little time to get home and set up! But the interview went well and I've been offered a place on the course!
I made Davide some lunch to potentially soak up some of the drink, ended up making another friend lunch too who'd not yet eaten today. And now it's evening and a very drunk Davide has been ringing on the doorbell - I think we'll be taking the phone off the hook tonight so the kids don't get woken!

Today I'm grateful for;
1) The joy, and challenge, of languages.
2) Being able to bring a bit of peace in the Consulate situation.
3) The excitement of the new course (starting in January).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.