Transitoire

By Transitoire

Civilisation...

...in the form of Quimper, the biggest easily reachable city for us. As very much a city girl at heart, being in the countryside without that many big towns for over a month has been slightly hard at times. I mean, there are good and bad points I suppose...although I definitely sleep better with the noise of the traffic than I do in silence.

Very much buoyed by our success of getting there all on our own...but things weren't plain sailing I'm not going to lie, but when are they ever. We set off to find the bus stop we needed on our bikes, and ended up waiting at the wrong bus stop for a bus that didn't come! Now this would have been fine, but there are only buses every two hours or so...so we headed back to chez nous to have a drink and then bike back to the actual bus stop we needed. Once we were there the second time, however, everything ran like a dream...bus was on time, took us to the right place and we were then more than chuffed with ourselves for managing this on our own! If you are ever in Quimper, I would more than recommend the Café du Finistere, opposite the cathedral, for a lovely meal. Great food and handsome waiters, what more could one ask for?! I definitely enjoyed my glass of wine more than usual once we found out that it was actually cheaper than Jen's glass of coke! Definitely going to mention that now every time we go anywhere...

So this photograph is taken from inside the cathedral, on one of those candle stands...very popular it was too! I wonder what the different colours of candles mean; if anyone could enlighten me I would be more than grateful! After lunch and an explore round the cathedral we decided we most definitely needed to go shopping - mainly because we haven't for a rather long time also known as about five weeks. Was so nice to be in a place where there were buildings surrounding me, people everywhere and not too much green to be seen. The city itself is a bit of a warren, can't wait to continue exploring it on our days off...I feel there is so much more still to be seen.

Our evening was spent with one of the families, playing dominos, drinking wine and chatting. I know it was our day off, but at the same time we had promised to go up and say hi...and hi just turned into an evening at theirs. It is such a hard life sometimes...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.