pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Lovely Cromer!

A normal Thursday today - but after a bit of a lie in. I got up and made us a cup of tea. Did I confess to putting our heating on this week? Probably not, because my blips were consumed with other news. Anyway, it felt particularly cold Monday and I put it on. Today, I've turned it back off. It is warmer - a bit too warm for the menopausal, plus, the heating has been tested now and I know it works, so when we really need it, it'sgood to go!

I went shopping, spending a bit more than I expected. Then I had just enough time for a coffee with Jon, who dragged himself away from his desk for 10 minutes, before heading to singing (5 minutes late)

Singing was jolly. Lots of us, and we made some good progress with new songs. Then coffee and a scone and I chatted to one of the ladies. I'm getting to know them all gradually, but it is hard making friends when I rarely go anywhere, and we don't get much time after singing, before we all go home. I didn't go home, but went to Cromer to walk in the wind and drizzle- it was a good test for my new raincoat! Ian aged to browse, walk and generally delay going home for nearly 3 hours. I went down to the pier and had a cup of tea and a chocolate brownie. The sea was lively, crashing onto the beach as a group of about 4 people surfed, and one kayaked quite a long way out. Brave I thought!

I dipped in and out of the charity shops, and bought a few (more) books....we could open a book shop of our own!

Then once home, I tackled the big summer clothes/winter clothes swap. It took ages, but I figured, as I did it, that having a very small wardrobe is actually a big positive. It means I get to look at every item of clothing I own, twice a year. I am reunited, and excited by the items squirreled away into the loft 6 months ago, whilst taking the opportunity to sort, donating some of the 'least worn this summer' clothes to a charity bag. I've still held on to my 40 year old, stretchy beach shorts though! Some things I'll probably keep for ever.

Cooked a tuna stir fry for dinner...(took ages to prepare all the veg from scratch) but something the boys like!

Some tv now, then an early night after All Creatures Great and Small!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.