pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

Very wet day!

My day has been spent I'm the summerhouse working, and staying dry. That is thanks to Jon and Henry refelting the roof earlier in the summer. Lucky they did, because we had some leaks last winter, but I think it would have been quite wet in there today.

It has been a day of pulling together with colleagues to get through the pensions mountain today. We are really struggling with staff numbers, plus lack of experience versus sheer volumes of casework, calls and emails. It will get worse before it gets better - if it does ever get better. Did what I could to help with prioritising, and as a mini team, 3 of us got through a virtual pile of pension processing.

At lunchtime, I had a wander round the garden filming how deep the surface water in the back garden was, and how high and fast our stream was running. Thankfully I had persuaded Jon to leave his motorbike at home, and to go in to the city today in his car. It was too wet and windy, and he is still tired after the week away. He got back at 4 bringing me a welcome hot cup of tea to the bottom of the garden.

I stayed until 5 to clear up a few other bits of my own casework then sloshed across the garden home. We are on clay here, so the water takes a long time to drain away. If we have a dry night, it should be gone by the morning.

Jon made the pizzas - just 3 tonight as Mollie is out. The rest of the evening has been with my laptop and my lists...I've got a new notebook. My favourite thing is a new notebook. So my long list has been copied to the new notebook, with a page for each job/project off the list, plus a bit on the laptop.

Now to start on the lists...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.