secret garden

By freespiral

Wet wet wet

We rendezvoused with Marie Brett the artist, and her chap Nic in Millstreet at Tubrid Well  for this was a recce for her forthcoming project and my job was to entice her with a few holy wells! The BVM was illuminated as were the candles, a little brightness amongst the murk and the water glimmered so many different colours. Here we met the well keeper, the very genial James, who recounted us with stories and then swept us back to his house for tea and scones. BUT - my life is now complete because before we left, who should appear but the BLESSED EEL!!!  As you must know by now for I am always banging on about it , that some wells contain blessed fish - eels and trout - and to see one is considered great luck. Having been to around 600 wells I had yet to see one but .... Nic spotted it  and there he was, sleek and long and brimming with good fortune. I tried to get a photo but all I got was the swish of mud as he vanished. I was ridiculously thrilled!
Fuelled with scones and many more stories we carried on to Rockspring to oone of my very favourite and secretive wells. Yes, still lashing and the well had a bit of a forlorn air since i'd last visited. Maybe Covid, maybe something else but the water was full of leaves and branches, the cups had gone and the lights were off. Nevertheless, we were accompanied by a very bouncy Labrador who thought we were the most exciting things he'd ever seen. 
We then drove on to Listowel in north Kerry to stay the night before the next adventures. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.