suehutton

By suehutton

North Sea Observatory

The day that Storm Babet hit.

After egg and bacon breakfast cooked by Len, I finally got myself washed and dressed. We were able to leave for the North Sea Observatory at Chapel St Leonard's at midday.

The rain had been incessant overnight and continued hard as we set off down the coast road. Pools of water were accumulating in the fields on either side. The road follows a roughly north-south ridge. It's rumoured that the bank was first built by the Romans but I think it more likely that it follows an ancient dune line.

The car park was mostly empty. I climbed up the ramp on my crutches and was almost knocked down by the wind once I reached the top. It didn't help that the decking was slippery. I had to be deliberately slow as to where I placed my crutches. Similarly, it wasn't a great surface in the Seascape Café. But lunch was very pleasant. It was warm inside and the weather was outside.

On the way back we called in at Farmer Brown's once more for latte and ice cream.

Sausages and baked beans for tea. We are now parked in front of the TV watching the rugby world cup semi final between Argentina and New Zealand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.