Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

A great night out

I hope everyone is safe and warm.

Mr C had to drive to town to take Ella to the film chaperone as daughter was at work and Luke was too, on 3am-3pm shift.

We both had sore arms from our flu and Covid jabs. I woke with my ribs and back hurting when I coughed up nastiness so
I got an appointment to be checked by GP. As Mr C had the car I had a 2 mile walk in the storm. I squeezed into my ski trousers and coat and set off. The Coquet was high and had already covered the car park and closed one of the roads out of the village. GP said my oxygen levels were not great so gave me antibiotics. The river was even higher when I returned. Water was gushing off the fields and down the street. The golf course and play park were covered and the flood gates closed.

Mr C arrived back in time to pick me up for my night in town with the daughters. He’s picking up Ella and minding her and Nathaniel as Luke is at work.

I had a lovely supper of tapas as Kaltur with my girls then we went to the cathedral for Bowie by candlelight. We didn’t know what it would be like. I was cringing at the start - the sound was so loud and distorted I couldn’t even work out what the songs were. #2 went out and told the sound person at the back it was impossible and was told they were sorting it but we moved to the side at the back and it was so different. The other advantage was we could get up and dance in the side aisle. We had a brilliant time. It was such fun that we went after it down into a trendy cocktail bar for a drink. I didn’t feel a bit out of place. We talked about all the bands we’d seen - they saw Cold Play, Oasis, Morcheeba, Lemonhead, inxs and more. #1 daughter saw all the Scottish bands - Texas, Deacon Blue etc but when travelling in Europe saw Bowie for £5. Great connections.

The blip is my girls watching the fake Bowie after we’d had our dancing.

We are now en route home, hoping we make it as the floods are worse now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.