A wet view from the study

What a laughing stock this country’s government is. We’re a banana republic with no bananas. A lettuce lasts longer than Truss. And now the BBC is talking up the return of Johnson. Ludicrous.

Unfortunately, much as I’d like a general election, I don’t think it’ll happen. None of the current lot would call one as they’d lose their seats whereas if they wait for 2 years people might have forgotten and things will have calmed down if Sunak gets chosen. Also our constituency, and probably many others, has no prospective candidates selected.

I’ve cracked on with my Blurb book as it’s been a wet day. We have decided to live in the upstairs study while we have the noisy fans and dehumidifiers going downstairs.

Kevin the plumber called to look at the bathroom to see if it would be possible to move the loo so that we can install a shower. He had a laugh at my insistence on keeping the aged avocado suite, reminding me I’d not find an avocado shower. I told him avocado was all the rage in hipster Hoxton. It’s a good time to think about it with the hall ceiling being down as an electrician can install wiring from there for LED lights. It will be a long time before we make a start on the rest - the dehumidifier man is coming to look at things next week. We’ll have a better idea then how long it’s going to take.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.