Bob20

By Bob20

Kath

Another busy day. I have spent all day with a planning consultant. The next project on my 'to do ' list is to restore our ancient watermill, which should keep me busy for a couple of years or more.

We went around the mill taking photographs and on walking along the road, I saw Kath at the bus stop. You will see the stop is called Ashford Mill.

Kath is salt of the earth rural character. I'm convinced every small town or village in the UK has one. She is always smiling, friendly and never has a bad thing to say about anyone.

She remembers the days when the mill was a working mill and will tell me how you could hear the machinery start up each morning. The noise was so loud you could hear it in the village she says.

Now in her 80's, Kath has trouble walking but will walk to the village shop daily and catch the bus to Bakewell to do her shopping. If her bag didn't say Waitrose, this shot could have been almost timeless.

I am still trying to find time to reply to your lovely comments from the last two days. Mrs. Bob is out at the cinema tonight, so I hope to begin to be able to work my way through them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.