Bob20

By Bob20

Solomon's Temple

For today's blip, I went to Solomon's Temple near Buxton and I managed to get soaked. It was one of those days where the clouds were spectacular, the sun was shining but the weather could be seen to be moving in. Being reasonably stupid, I waited for the dark clouds to get close before I took the shot. I could see it would rain, but I wasn't expecting a downpour! I luckily, only had a tee shirt and jeans on and managed to return to the car in about 5 minutes.

Solomon's Temple, also known as Grinlow Tower, is a Victorian Fortified hill marker. It is said to have been built by Solomon Mycock in the 1890s; paid for by public subscription to provide work for the locally unemployed with assistance of the seventh Duke of Devonshire.

The tower was restored in 1998 by public subscription. The structure is a 20-foot-high (6.1 m), two-storey tower built on top of a Bronze Age barrow, sitting on top of a ridge at a height of 440 metres (1,440 ft) above sea level. From the open top of the tower there are good views over the town and the surrounding countryside and parts of the Peak District. The tower does not contain anything other than the staircase to the top.

Enjoy your weekend everyone, I'm managing to slowly catch up with comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.