iaint

By iaint

High Risk

My local Parkrun (Kirkcaldy) went ahead this morning in spite of the stormy weather. 

Certainly it had calmed a bit by 09:30 - less wind and less rain. The course I ran last Saturday (Lochore Meadows) was cancelled. Fallen trees, I think. 

The organisers were noticeably nervous, however, with slippery fallen leaves, puddles and fallen branches on the parts of the course which go under (or close to) trees. That means most of it. 

I was careful. I got round safely. 

It was my 50th Parkrun and a milestone in terms of Parkrun culture. It has been strange today reflecting back on my slight apprehension when I started in October last year, and some of the more memorable runs.

The next milestone is 100 runs. Who knows. I have managed to keep my body and mind fit enough for 12 months. Would another 12 months be possible?

Time will tell. 

The Blip is the finish, snapped once I had recovered enough breath to hold my phone reasonably steady. The Extra shows an example of one of the bits of debris lying around.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.