Living my dream

By Mima

Patcha yella

We walked up the hill this morning: the first time in weeks. As usual the views took my breath away - as well as the steepness of the road leaving me breathless.

This is the view southwards across the village in the valley, the rolling farmland - including Ross’s oilseed rape paddock - all the way to the Kakanui Range in the background. And some good cloudage was on display too.

Bean was bored with the banality of it all. The extra is her at the top, expressing her feelings with gusto.

She had stopped half way up the hill for a drink in a spot with no water, which confused me immensely. However when I reached her side, deep in the long grass beside the road there was a bubbling spring of crystal clear water. 

It certainly looked like a spring. However it has suddenly appeared from nowhere and I suspect it’s a leak in the Water Scheme pipe that runs beside the road, buried only a few inches down.

So I shoved a long post into the ground next to it, swathed with multiple bows of yellow tape, then left a message with the local water engineer suggesting he check it out. He’ll be there in the morning.

Good deed done for the day, it was back home to mow grass. It took me most of the afternoon and has left me with a warm glow of satisfaction and contentment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.