Living my dream

By Mima

My FFL…

…is staying at the family crib near Moeraki this long weekend. It’s Labour Day.

My boss gave me the day off, so she and I went over to spend a long lunchtime by the sea.

It’s several months since we got together because FFL’s dad died in August and then his mother-in-law died in early October. He’s been tied up with funerals and other post-life admin related to both of them. As a result we had a lot of things to catch up on, but nothing like enough time.

I hope I’ve convinced him that a long weekend at the crib in early December is a splendid and feasible plan, so that we can catch up a bit more.

Anyway, today we did some excellent bartering. I gave him tomato, courgette, capsicum and squash plants, plus two cheeses. I came home with six fillets of blue cod, two fillets of trumpeter fish, and a large chunk of his venison salami. 

We had some slivers of the salami and some Camembert on crackers for lunch. We ate with great satisfaction and mutual praise.

Thank you for all the comments and stars for yesterday’s burble about the canine water diviner. The engineer came out today and found my yellow markers next to the bubbling water. He dug up a very old and split joint in the water pipe. I received a very nice email thanking me for alerting them to the leak and for marking it so he could find it.

I’m way behind with blips at the moment… 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.