Living my dream

By Mima

Boosted

I’ve had a relatively quiet day, having received my latest Covid booster this morning in town. I’ve not had an adverse reaction to any of my previous Covid vaccinations, but I had cleared the remainder of the day just in case. (It’s six hours since the deed and I’m fine so far.)

I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve had a Covid jab now: I know I’ve taken up the offer of every one available, so I guess I must be at six, or maybe seven? They’re still free in NZ, but even if I had to pay I would. Just as I pay for the flu vaccine each year. 

I hate being ill and living the way I do it would be a disaster to be unwell at the ‘wrong’ time of year, when I’m at my busiest in summer and autumn. So I do everything I can to steer clear of debilitating illness.

‘A quiet day’ included extensive watering. The asparagus has started to shoot, very much later than everybody else’s locally. Their bed was quite dry, so I have soaked it this afternoon in the hope that’ll give them a hurry-up. 

There were enough spears to harvest half a dozen, but not until I’d taken some photos. I ate them raw in my fingers. The best.

I also ‘quietly’ planted out all the beetroot and silverbeet, and covered them with bird netting because the blackbirds were lining up to get stuck into the freshly disturbed and watered soil. No chance!

That’s the roots bed filled now. There are just beans, onions and leeks, squashes and courgettes to plant outside. They’ll stay in the shelter of the tunnel house for another two or three weeks until I’m more confident we’re past the final frost. 

With some cold weather heading our way from tomorrow night it pays to be alert to the weather forecast at this time of year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.