Living my dream

By Mima

Preserved

I woke a little wobbly this morning and remained slightly light-headed until late morning. I assume it was a minor reaction to yesterday’s Covid booster. It was a surprise because I had no reaction at all to previous vaccinations. However perhaps it was because I had shingles four months ago. 

I’m 100% again now. 

I shelved morning plans to garden with K, and instead I sat on the deck in the sun drinking tea and reading a book. How fortunate I am to have that option.

After lunch I got stuck into the day’s tasks, which sadly included burying a dead chook. 

It was one of the three older hens. She went off the lay a couple of weeks ago and I thought maybe she was going to moult at last, but she became more and more withdrawn and finally died overnight in the ‘hen hospital’. The hospital is a large dog crate, furnished with a couple of roosting boxes, lots of newspaper and sawdust, water and food. 

I also mixed and proved a couple of sourdough loaves and preserved a load of lemons which were a gift from friends. I use preserved lemons a lot in summer, and it’s good to replenish my dwindling supply.

I sowed some extra sweetcorn seed, having had dreadful germination rates from the first batch: 14 of 48 have grown. I have the seed punnets on a heat mat which I hope will help, and they’re covered to reduce evaporation.

If anybody has tips for good sweetcorn germination, please let me know. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.