JohnW

By JohnW

Night Shots

Or should we say ‘wee small hours shots’.
 
Looking to the west at night, if the weather and clouds are right, we get a strip of light on the horizon which is the A1 reflecting off the clouds.  (We also get weather anomalies, usually with a strip of cloud building, caused by the heat rising of the A1 on warm or hot days.)
 
Just before six this morning, apart from being b****y cold, the air was clear and I thought  “what an opportunity to try out the new toy, especially its anti-wobble facilities". 
 
I forgot to turn off the patio light so when I went out I got reverse backlit.  Took a few shots before turning the light off, then a few more.  I thought that my shadow made a better shot than a dark patch, so that is my blip – hand held, 1 sec exposure (albeit with the help of the gate).  See exif for more data.
 
I then got the tripod out, but the light and cloud had changed so the shots weren’t a good comparison.   I did however take a few shots looking in the other direction and one is at extra.  I think the bright ‘star’ must be a space station, but I see I also captured a shooting star.  The light to the bottom right is the top of an infra-red flood light for the cctv.

My new geared tripod head also got full marks.
 
Both shots are on Flickr, so if you want more tec data the exifs are more detailed there.

Now to make a cup of tea and go back to bed for an hour or two . . .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.