FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Swimming in the Rain

Sunset swim this evening and the pool was so quiet. I counted seven swimmers in just over an hour. It was rather a chilly evening, windy and raining which might have put some regulars off.

The water felt cold when I got in and I caught my breath simultaneously hunching my shoulders. I wondered if the temperature is at 19C or less. I must remember to ask.

I pulled my goggles down, took a slow deep breath while lowering my shoulders to relax my diaphragm. I pushed off the side, arms straight ahead, toes pointed and head under the water.

I felt the cold water all around me like a blanket and came up for air gasping. I swam a couple of strokes above the water as I acclimatised. I took a big gulp of air and continued my swim bobbing under the water every other stroke.

As I reached the end of the 33 metre length I could feel my arms and legs tingling, a strange sensation that tricked my brain into being unsure if my body was hot or cold. I pushed off the side of the pool and took a slow exhale underwater for three or four strokes.

The water was perfectly clear and the floodlight reflections rippled at the bottom of the 3.7 metre deep end of the pool. My arms and shoulders started to feel warm and I had a surge of energy to speed up.

By the end of the second length my body started to feel warm with the occasional wave of cold water focusing my attention to keep moving. I found my rhythm and swam in the centre of the middle lane enjoying the luxury of having it to myself.

Every few lengths I took a long slow exhale and swam several metres underwater. On warmer days I’ve swam half the length of the pool underwater but that’s not advisable in the cold.

As I lapped the pool my mind became clear, any thoughts of the working day coming into my mind and any worries being resolved within seconds or dismissed with each stroke.

At one point my tummy rumbled and I thought about my dinner. I paused at the deep end of the pool kicking my feet on the spot to stay warm while watching other swimmers’ stroke technique.

A helicopter flew over and I wondered if it was the air ambulance or the police helicopter. The floodlights of the pool dazzled my vision so it wasn’t possible to make it out.

I started to feel a bit chilly floating on the spot and with a few lengths before the end of my workout I started to think about the warm showers.

The wind picked up a bit and the rain started to come down. There’s something quiet special about swimming in the rain and I noticed how little circular puddles appeared on the water’s surface.

The lifeguards chatted across the pool to each other commenting whether the relief crew would be out soon with an umbrella or coat. Within five minutes the relief shift emerged and the two soggy lifeguards trotted off inside.

A regular swimmer I call “Butterfly man” appeared in the fast lane, and prepared to pace the pool at great speed. I timed my passes so I swam under the water as he splashed past.

From underwater I admired his technique watching how his body rippled like a merman. Above the water his arms propelled him along causing a mighty crash at every stroke.

As fun as the ‘show’ was I’d enjoyed the tranquility of my quiet swim and as I reached my 50th length (one mile) it was time to exit the pool.

As I climbed the steps I removed my goggles and immediately felt the rain and wind whipping around my shoulders. My body felt surprisingly warm but the wind gust gave me a shiver. I slipped on my flip flops and reached for my towel on the bench.

I turned around to see the other swimmers lapping the pool and the blue water rippling in the rain, the light reflections twinkling on the surface.

There’s something quite special to me about swimming pools and being around water. I feel calm and happy and cannot wait to submerge under the surface. Perhaps it’s memories of swimming on holidays as a child or perhaps it’s something to do with being an Aquarian.

Whatever it is, I can say this…Swimming has kept me from losing the plot of recent months during the film industry strikes while work has been quieter than I’d like. I’ve also improved my fitness and my lockdown belly is almost gone.

My body has gotten used to colder water and I personally find the indoor pool a little warm for my taste. I turn the temperature down on my shower at home and regularly walk around in cycling shorts and a tee shirt without feeling chilly. Last winter I had less colds or bugs then in previous years too.

Counting the hours until the next open air swim. Hoping a few more swimmers join the outdoor sessions to make sure the pool keeps it going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.