The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Coate Water Park (Monday 23rd October 2023)

This morning I was in Swindon with Buzz in the next step of sorting out injuries sustained on the disastrous weekend at the start of September. I'd taken him to the BMW Mini Body Shop for an estimate, complicated by the fact that Buzz had unaccountably suffered some further damage whilst parked in a public space on his nearside, not discovered until possibly days later. Although covered by insurance I almost fainted when given a rough idea of the cost and I needed a walk around the lake at Coate Water Park to clear my head.

It has been nearly three months since my last visit (on 27th July), so a different season (if we still have seasons). There were seven cormorants on the Cormorant Tree, but even with my super-zoom camera it proved difficult to get a sharp shot from that distance. The two posted in Extras were taken at an equivalent to 650mm.

I had a Sandwich Meal Deal from the Coate Water Café which included some Quavers and a nicely hot cappuccino, gratefully consumed.

On the way home I called at Calne Auto Repairs Services to see the guy who fixed Buzz's bumper grill. His quote was vastly more reasonable, if less comprehensive, but the work would have to wait until mid-January.

L.
Monday 23.10.2023 (1910 hr)

Blip #3980 (#3730 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #000
Blips/Extras In 2023 #186/265 + #086/100 Extras
Day #4959 (1169 gaps from 26.3.2010)
Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day #3120 (#2960 + 160 in archived blips)

Swindon series
Coate Water Park series
Birds series
Wildlife series
Outdoor Places I Have Sat In series
Buzz series

Coate Water Park, 23 October 2023  (Flickr album of 32 photos)

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Lozarithm's Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Nigel Kennedy - Song For My Father (2006)
Nigel Kennedy (el vln), Joe Lovano (ten sax), Kenny Werner (pno), Ron Carter (double-bass), Jack DeJohnette (dr), Danny Sadownick (perc)
This is my pick from Cerys Matthew's Sunday show. Apparently she'd recently bumped into him in the BBC corridors and this had inspired her to play this Horace Silver composition he had recorded for the album The Blue Note Sessions. I hadn't heard it before and really liked it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.