Second-time-around

By Skysea7

A cold, wet, grey and sunless day.

Then 20 minutes before sunset time, this sky appeared. On a day when there had been no sun! There wasn’t enough time to go to a beach or wide open space to get a bigger sky, so it just had to be a window shot. It was all over in ten minutes.

Other news: last week I had a CT scan to check for lung cancer. I didn’t ask for this - I was offered it as part of a ‘scheme’. I was told I would ‘get a letter’ re the results. This morning I was in the garden cleaning out the hedgehog feeding station and trying to finish it before the rain started, when my mobile rang. It was a nurse from the CT scan , and she said she needed my date of birth ‘for security’ before she could speak to me. I said I wasn’t going to give my d.o.b while I was outside within earshot of several neighbours, so she asked when would it be convenient to call me back. I said in an hour’s time. I asked if I should be worried and she said no cancer was showing in my lungs but she wanted to talk to me about something else.

FIVE hours later she phoned back! She said the scanner had picked up something around my heart! Great! I don’t have any heart problems that I know about! She said the lung cancer scanner isn’t designed for heart issues, so she would refer me for a different scan. ‘When?’ I asked. She couldn’t say - it’s that magic NHS word - WAIT. I thought afterwards that this time she didn’t ask for my d.o.b this time!

I didn’t have a problem till I went for that scan!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.