Bom

By Bom

Ice Creams in the Rain

Another horrible wet day. I’ve never known the forecast to be so  awry. At 11pm last night the forecast was for heavy rain overnight (and we did get some), with a dry morning. By 7am that changed to heavy rain from 9 till 1, so my friend and I postponed our planned walk. In reality the rain started at 10:15 and didn’t finish until 4:45. We’ve had another 16.4mm so far today. I had to go to YBS in Cromer so I went this afternoon. Lots of standing water on the A148 and both car parks I used in Cromer were full, so I waited for a space. I couldn’t believe it when I saw this group of young children standing in the rain in their waterproofs, eating ice cream! I gave the photo a treatment in the ArtCard app. 

I’m shocked that the Govt has removed the cap on bankers bonuses - which is currently twice their base pay. The regulators don’t appear to understand human behaviour and in particular ‘loss avoidance’. I worked reviewing the effectiveness of risk management in banks, and it was very obvious that big decisions were being taken with an eye on the impact on their bonuses. Then if things went wrong, to avoid ‘losing’ the bonus they’d anticipated, they either covered it up or took even more risk (like a gambler ‘doubling up’). Bearing in mind the cap was bought in to limit the taking of excessive risk after the near collapse of the banking system, I think the Govt and Regulators have completely lost the plot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.