David J. Rose

By djrose007

My Respectful Little Assistants

A busy day, but then it always is when the children are around of course.
I took Buddy and Hendrix to school this morning, just going out of the door when the girls emerged from their bedroom and ran down the stairs. B & H then didn't want to go to school, of course. They all just wanted to stay and play, but we had to go. The twins have a different Half Term week, in Suffolk, than the boys have here in Gloucestershire.
Off we went and this afternoon I put two child seats into the car, as well as the two booster seats for the boys, and we went to pick B & H up at the end of the school day.
Meanwhile, the girls came with me to do the annual clean-up of two WW1 veterans buried in the graveyard at St Katherine's Church, Matson. It's a fairly short drive from our house.
As always I did Trooper Victor George Lane's grave first, it's the easiest as I had my Stihl battery strimmer (brilliant tool by the way). The girls had one each of the 'In Remembrance' crosses which the Western Front Association deliver to me each year. One girl placed the cross and we all stepped back and saluted this young man  who died at the age of 17, in July 1917.
We then went on to Bombardier John E. Herbert. He died in Bristol V.A.D. Hospital (Voluntary Aid Detachment) in November 1918, aged 24.
I asked the girls to stand on either side of his cross, the saluting was totally unprovoked, copying what we did at the previous grave. Funny Bella wanted to hold the long handled shears to show they'd been working HAHAHAHAHAHAHA
They were very interested in what had happened to these two young soldiers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.