Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Picking up the threads

There were things mutely asking to be dealt with today - the kind of things you shove aside when you have a task, something fixed that needs to take precedence. Today was for dealing with some of them. My first need was a rather longer sleep than I had, but I steadfastly stayed in bed and drank tea, did my Italian, caught up with my family's journey home from their New York holiday - and then went down and made porridge. My sister rang for a chat, I washed up ... and then it was time for coffee.

Not much catching up there. But I was putting on my good down jacket to go to put in a prescription request when I noticed a little puff of down coming out from a sleeve ... and when I gave it a gentle pull more came out and I realised that when that bent bamboo fencing that had worked loose in Benmore Gardens the other day jumped out and caught my sleeve it had actually made a hole. Instant despair. Fine mending is not my thing. So after taking the prescription order into the surgery, I headed along Argyll Street to the excellent Anoli, who runs a mending and alterations service in her little shop. I'm getting my jacket back tomorrow ...

Outside the shop I bumped into my former boss and his wife, people who are almost as old as I am - we share ageist banter - and then went on to go home the long way taking in a bit of the West Bay. That's when I took my extra photo: it was by no stretch of the imagination a warm day, but there was a couple sitting side by side on the beach looking downriver under a dramatic sky and I just had to take their photo (the extra today). I also had an entertaining exchange with a young man who at first glance was making sand castles but who turned out to be collecting sand to repair a garden wall. 

We had prawn and chilli pasta for dinner at 4 o'clock, finishing off with the last of the cream scones from yesterday, then subsided for a rest before choir. We were all present at tonight's rehearsal, which was enjoyable in its usual knackering way - we've two performances in December, with different programmes, so there's work to be done. And then we walked home under a bright moon and that's the photo above because I can never resist a moon pic. 

And now it's 12.30am and I really must go to bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.