Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Autumnal

It's funny how Autumn - at least in Argyll - can bring not only the glorious colours that have suddenly appeared in the trees but also the sense that there's only gloom ahead until ... March? April? We had the odd blink of sun this morning, right enough, but by the time I was finished with Pilates it had gone, and though I hung out some of the sheets from last week I was soon taking them in again in a fine drizzle. Pilates, incidentally, nearly killed me after three weeks off - the stretching was all right until we reached a new one involving a strange manoeuvre with one leg while ... sitting on it? I couldn't even begin to remember it now.

The rest of the day degenerated into a fairly somnolent wait to hear who the latest PM is going to be, in the meantime catching up on the Sunday paper and its evisceration of the Tory party and its pantomime. (You can tell I don't buy a right wing paper ...) I'm feeling we live in a very undemocratic state at the moment, with our own parliament's powers being steadily undermined. I hear that Sunak wants to look more closely at "what's going on" at Holyrood. (Stifles a wee sweary word here.)

I'm trying to get back into the routine of a Thursday early morning shop, which meant that I was a tad stumped what to have for dinner tonight. Having settled on chorizo patatas bravas as being a cheering dish, I had to go out for some new potatoes and turned it into a mile-long circuit of part of the East Bay. This gave me the illusion of having done something with my afternoon, but really it wasn't what I'd call fulfilling.

Blipping my dinner, simply because it looks more cheerfully autumnal than a rather grimly purple sky above Dunoon, which was another photo I took. While I was looking at the recipe, I found myself looking at the blog which Blipfoto has largely displaced in my online journalling. I wasn't so compelled to maintain it every day, but it contains some interesting memories and opinions. (If you're interested, this is the page I was checking for something).

Now for a hot bath before I take my aching muscles to bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.