a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Misty start

The last of my shots from visiting the red deer rut at Bradgate Park near Leicester: the ruins of Bradgate House enjoy a misty dawn.

Bradgate was once the home of the Grey family, influential nobles in medieval and Tudor times.  Lady Jane Grey, the 9 Day Queen was reputedly born at Bradgate, although Wikipedia suggests that may actually not be the case.   Clearly, in its time it was quite an imposing pile.

Its been a fabulous trip and something I very much hope to get the chance to do again.  Although before I do so, I will need to invest in some more waterproof boots than I've been wearing, as I ended up with quite soggy socks - the result of several days of continuous wet vegetation and soggy ground, and the boots never really got to dry out .  Gortex is all very well but it doesn't seem to be infallible.  I probably should have put my wellies on, but wanted the greater flexibility that came with my normal walking boots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.