Second-time-around

By Skysea7

Tangled up kitten!

She’s happily playing. The debris around her is all her doing!

It started slightly sunny but I missed it because I had a half hour ‘diabetic review’ appointment. There used to be a ‘diabetic team’ but I think this nurse was just a Healthcare assistant. It’s the first ‘review’ I’ve had since OZEMPIC became unavailable in August. It can be bought in the private system though, while NHS diabetic patients are told they can’t have it because there’s a ‘national shortage’. So, despite using insulin, my glucose kevels have gone sky high and I have had zero support. The appointment was interrupted 3 times by other ‘nurses’ coming in to enquire about equipment, keys, and I can’t remember what. On the third interruption I complained that I had waited two and a half months for this appointment and I couldn’t easily concentrate because of the interruptions. I was told it was because all the equipment was kept in this room! So why hold appointments in it?

After 20 questions - all the info was in my records on his computer, the ‘nurse’ said he would have to consult with his colleague who would phone me this afternoon. She’s the chief diabetic nurse and of course she didn’t phone. Meanwhile all I can do to reduce my sky high glucose levels is to eat as little as I can! I feel quite angry about it. Well-off people who are maybe slightly overweight can still buy this drug today - the ‘National shortage’ doesn’t apply to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.