Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Fabulous Fungal Foray

We set off with this morning’s mist still in the air but as soon as we got on the other side of the M62 the air was clear and the sun was shining. It was definitely the right decision to head in that direction to Mere Sands Wood. 
We’ve not been there for about 4 years I reckon, mainly due to lockdown. It’s a nice little reserve and more famous for its fungi than other wildlife. It has a few hides that look out over various pools but the birds are quite a distance away for photography. Apart from a couple of goosanders in the middle of the main mere, there wasn’t much about except ducks, cormorants and huge numbers of black headed gulls so I soon changed lenses and concentrated on fungi. 
There were quite a lot of species about, even from the path, which I rarely leave. I had fun photographing them but I know I could do better. My favourites are always the fly agarics - we only found the one - and then the stinkhorns which my husband found very amusing. We’ve not seen them before so that was nice. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.