Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Kestrel

Went to Pickering's Pasture this morning for high tide to see what was about in front of the hide. Loads of cormorants, Canada Geese and redshanks out on the marsh, a couple of godwits, a little egret and a grey wagtail in the pool and this lovely female kestrel hovering in front of the hide.  
I was a bit frustrated that she wouldn't come a tad further out so I could get rid of the tree branches behind her. I'm sure somebody better than me could have removed them during editing, but I'm too lazy to do that.....and anyway, they were there, so I always think it's a bit of a cheat to remove them!

Last night at the camera club we had a session on editing (he didn't cover removing unwanted branches though!) and I learned quite a lot, but will probably not use that much of it. I can't help thinking that all of the adjustments, especially with colour, are not necessary with nature photography and are more suited to landscapes. I can see how they can enhance the image and I'm sure there is a lot of skill involved, but it's just not what was captured......and feels a bit wrong to do it.  I'm sure I'll get over it though :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.