An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A wee trip out...

Backblip

The day started innocently enough.  

Felt a bit brighter when I woke up and was downstairs just after 10am.  Poor David still feels terrible with this bad cold.  He took a covid test but it's negative so that's something.

After lunch D headed back to bed.  He slept in the front room last night as he doesn't want me to catch his bugs on top of my UTI and abdominal pain.

I had a relaxed afternoon.  Crocheted some of my cardigan and snoozed.

D came back downstairs just after 6pm and we had dinner.  During this time the pain in my side got steadily worse to the point I was only taking shallow breaths as even normal breathing made me feel as though a large sharp knife was stabbing into my side.  Decided I should phone NHS 24 for advice.

Long story short, I was given an appointment at Out of Hours at PRI at midnight.  Felt really sorry for poor D having to take me there when he was feeling so bad.  He kept saying it's just a cold but he also had a horrible headache, last thing he needed was to go out into the cold and drive to Perth :(

As there was some time before my appointment I decided to pack a bag just incase I was admitted.  The last thing I wanted was for D to have to come home and do that then bring it back to the hospital.

I was seen quite quickly once there.  Doctor was very thorough.  Still had a temperature but BP was fine.  Have gave me a thorough physical examination, checking my stomach, sides, back.  His diagnosis?  Kidney stone.  He changed my antibiotics to one covering kidneys as well as bladder and gave me an injection of Diclofenac and told me I had to wait there for half a hour.  If the injection helped with the pain I could go home and my GP would contact me tomorrow about arranging a CT scan.  If the pain didn't reduce he would send me to the urology ward at Ninewells Hospital in Dundee, where I would be admitted and scanned tomorrow.

It was a tense wait but after 10 minutes there was a reduction in my pain and by 30 minutes I could breathe normally again and even cough without horrendous pain so I was able to come home.  

Got home at 2am, absolutely shattered but so glad the pain has reduced.  Will see what GP says tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.