Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

Tablescape

We are approaching Allhallowtide, an old name for the triduum of holidays; All Hallows Eve on October 31, All Saints Day on November 1, and All Souls Day of November 2.  It is referred to as the "Days of the Dead" in Mexico.  I put out my ancestor stones each year as a way of remembering them.  The tradition is that candles are lit on All Hallows Eve and messages to the departed are put in a fire, the smoke carrying they heaven ward.  But all I can think of is my dear state.  We are all grieving this morning after a horrific mass shooting in Lewiston last night.  The last I heard, 22 are confirmed dead and 50-60 injured.  Lewiston is about 55 miles northeast of me. The number is just stunning.  Gift#297: the caring thoughts of people at this horrible time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.