While on my runs

By waipushrink

In search of nesting material

Late afternoon I left for a walk; had barely gone ten metres when a Kereru flew above me into a Kanuka tree. As I approached I saw it break off a thin twig. Although the Kereru dropped it fairly promptly, I figured it likely that the bird was seeking stuff to make a nest. After appearing to pose for the camera, the Kereru hopped further along the branch into the foliage. 

I picked up the empty milk bottle (put down so I could use the camera) and went on my way around the Rimutaka Huia Track circuit. When I got to Woodlands Park Store, I went first to the adjacent Kebab takeaway and placed an order for this evening. Then paid to fill our milk bottle before continuing back home. A good brisk walk and we are now looking forward to collecting our takeaway meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.