tempus fugit

By ceridwen

Vegetable love

"Oh, kohlrabi!" I said to the woman at the vegetable stall.
"Yes" she replied, "Not everybody knows what it is."
"Well I do and I'll have one" I said.
"What will you do with it?" she asked.
"I don't know, I might try fermenting it."
"It makes a nice salad, grated with apple and beetroot. We had that last night and it was lovely."
"OK, I might try that. Thanks!"

So I did and it was delicious, along with some leftover roasted veg from the night before. The apple and beetroot came from the garden and I added a green chilli, some mustard seeds, salt, pepper, oil and vinegar, with parsley on top.

"Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants" Michael Pollen.
Also: low cost, no air miles, no plastic and paid for in cash.
Plus, supporting small local businesses - this one only joined the market a few weeks ago but they seem to be doing alright with plenty of customers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.