curns' corner

By curns

Halloween 2

I left late to meet Cornelia for this month’s Thirsty Thursday. Alex had bailed earlier in the day because his son was ill, so it was just the two of us but we agreed this was for the best. At the White Horse, as usual, we saw that there were some workmen out putting up the Carnaby Street Christmas lights. Sadly, they were not illuminated when we left.  The pub itself had this wonderful witch about the bar which was judging me every time I ordered a beer.

A lovely evening, as always. I learned all about Cornelia’s career selling VIP F1 tickets:  she’d never mentioned this before. 

One last drink which ended up in a plastic glass because the pub closed. As a result I missed my last train and needed to take the tube to South Wimbledon and a bus onwards to Raynes Park. The man next to me on the bus had terrible body odour. 

I was not home until 1:15am. Not quite the early night I wanted.  The late night shop was closed - I don’t know if this is a permanent thing or a one night issue. As noted a couple of days ago, the bridge by the station was closed for “works”.  Crumpets and  bed. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.