curns' corner

By curns

Halloween

A year ago today I was moaning about the paperwork and files that didn’t have a home because I’d bought the new desk. I’m disappointed to report that they still don’t have a home and are living in a cardboard box. I really want to sort that out. Hopefully, by this time next year. 

I was on the platform before 7:30am.  This is not where I wanted to be. My pre-COVID world was a 7am departure and I don’t want this era of my life to require that early a start. 

Lunch was a Tesco meal deal because the canteen was busy. The afternoon was good. I bumped into Sarah, who I have not seen for a few years with the COVID stuff, and she didn’t know I’d left and come back but it was wonderful to chat. More like this please. 

A couple of other team conversations and we approached the end of the day. Our product team had a scheduled get together: lovely to go for a beer with my new colleagues. 

Tonight is the team’s Halloween party. I hadn’t planned to attended but after the product team beer I thought I’d go for one. I ended up staying for most of the night.  After yesterday’s promise she had no costume, Gerry turned up in a full-on witch’s costume and went on to win the fancy dress prize. At some point R presented me with a green wig, which matched my shirt, and I wore that until the itching was too much. 

A lovely evening. Unexpectedly long and more drinks than I planned. I don’t think the vodka lemonade was needed but I stayed to watch a number of my colleagues belt out karaoke woefully out of tune. And I got to spend time with some of the engineers that, up until now, have been boxes on a video conference screen. That was useful but I should have gone to my Tai Chi class. 

Too many crumpets consumed when I eventually got home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.