curns' corner

By curns

Filing

I was part way through my breakfast when the doorbell rang. It was the British Heart Foundation who were collecting the desk and cabinet that I have replaced with the new standing desk. I’m quite pleased that they showed up early and I wasn’t having to move furniture while trying to work.  There was a later delivery of something for PY which came in the middle of a team All Hands. Luckily, I wasn’t presenting - and I had completed my ‘hello, this is me’ portion of the call - and so I was able to head down to sign for the box.

I still haven’t found a home for the files I removed from the old desk drawer. They are sat in a box beside me - nagging me - to do something with them. I still want to scan them but I wonder, does everybody have a backlog of paper that they aim to deal with soon? Or does it just build up until one day with throw it away? 

I didn’t head to Staines today as many of our team are off either today or in the next few days but we did have a team call with the architects and product owners. I maned to get them to agree to a way of working that manages an agenda and updates in Confluence. I think this will be very useful. 

In between everything I transferred the remainder of the money owned for the Isle of Wight flat into the lawyers bank account so that it is ready for the completion on Thursday.  It’s quite a leap to have all that money removed from the bank account. I had PY checking over my shoulder that I was typing in all the correct amounts. I also booked us a train and hotel for Friday night so that we can be on the island early on Saturday to pick up the keys. I did a bit of research into locksmiths and carpet cleaners which I think are amongst the first things we will need.

'Twas  Rishi Sunak’s first day as PM. I wonder if he'll last longer than the last one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.