curns' corner

By curns

Stand up

It was just me and my boss on the 9:30am standup as Jomith’s wife is expected to give birth today. I actually used the controls on my new desk to the stand-up. I do find it gives me more energy to be stood when talking to people. I don’t get around to using it everyday but I am hopeful it will be worth the money. I have set the three memory controls at sitting, standing typing and standing talking. There’s not much between the last two but it’s more comfortable to have it a little higher if I am presenting to camera. 

In between other meetings, I was invited to a call that was showcasing some of the changes that are coming to the user interface. Given that I don’t really know the current interface I really didn’t have anything to add but it was interesting to see their way of working.  Most discussion was on how to represent the Boolean logic for the key-value pair targeting. This is always a complex thing.  Given I have done this kind of work several times before I was surprised that I didn’t want to add to the conversation (maybe it was the post-holiday blues). The end results are always remarkably similar and the complexity is always how to visually show the logic that would be represented by parenthesis if the statement was to be written more like an equation. It always comes down to colours and indentations.

As we have only just returned from our holiday and we only managed to pick up some milk when we arrived at Gatwick, I went out to buy some lunch. I ended up with a lot of packaged food (salad, chicken and a wrap) from the Co-op which I managed to create a tasty lunch from. I then had to go out again after work to buy dinner.  As we were both feeling exhausted I managed to keep dinner quick with a prawn stir fry. 

At 6pm the good news that a baby boy had been born!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.