Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Fright Night special

A busy morning and early afternoon where we did a HIIT then walked into town.

Late afternoon we went to went to Tenterden to the Old Dairy Tap Room to sample their Green Hop ales, part of a Green Hop festival in several Kent Breweries this weekend and next week: https://kentgreenhopbeer.com/

We were sat enjoying “My Dad’s a Nun” bitter and “Earnest” Red Green Hop beer when a chap asked if the seats by us were free.

Yes, they were then he asked me “if I played rugby and what was my name” I told him and it turns out that it was Jim from my earliest days in Maidstone in 1976 when I first played for the rugby club. His friend, Des, was the club coach for several years while I was playing. I haven’t see either for many, many years, perhaps 35?

As you can imagine, there was plenty of talk about old times, former players, those who had died and so on. A very enjoyable interlude. Turns out Jim and Des live with their respective families and we’d walked past their doors a good few times.

It could have turned into a right old session. The Old Dairy is their local on a Friday. However, we didn’t want to intrude to we left to have a look at the Fright Night train waiting in the platform which led to today’s blip. Plenty of people around, all getting into the “spirit” of the event, passengers and staff alike. Even the engine had pumpkins on its frames. And the station was well dressed with all the ghoulish trimming you would expect to see.

England v Argentina tonight. It would be satisfying to see England win

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.