Living my dream

By Mima

A Feast of Health

The alarm did a good job waking me to put yesterday’s cheese into brine at 11.30 last night. It went without incident. I managed not to spill brine, nor to throw the cheese across the room, despite being semi-conscious.

It is the quickest semi hard cheese I’ve made to date, and was created by a Canadian cheese maker who was trying to replicate the fast farmhouse cheeses she remembers from her childhood.

Only 27 hours after pouring the milk into a pot at the start of the process, it was ready to sample.

It has a texture similar to a moist Gouda or Edam. The flavour is mild, which isn’t surprising given its youth. And it squeaks on the teeth which is fun. It’s definitely good enough to make again.

I ate a few slices with some sourdough bread, FFL’s salami and beetroot chutney. A tasty brunch.

I’ve put 3/4 of the cheese into a box in the cheese cave to see how its flavours develop over the next few days and weeks. It has lipase in it, so it should start to ripen into something with undertones of Parmesan. I think I’ll like that.

Thanks for the comments, stars and hearts yesterday. It is enormously reassuring to know how many of us think along similar lines. Go plant your apple trees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.